British	The N
Restriction	ew Colonia
is on the	al Policy,
British Restrictions on the 13 Colonies	The New Colonial Policy, 1760-1774

Restraints on Colonial Legislatures and "Rights of Englishmen"
Restraints on Territorial Expansion
Enforcement of Mercantilism and Restraints on Colonial Trade
Imposition of New Taxes

BRITISH RESTRICTIONS ON THE 13 COLONIES

Place each restriction under the appropriate basic cause of the American Revolution

Navigation Acts: Although passed before 1754, these laws required the colonists to 1] transport their goods only in British or American ships; 2] export certain goods such as tobacco, sugar, indigo, and furs, only to Britain; 3] purchase their imports only from Britain.

Writs of Assistance (1762): These were general search warrants (as opposed to search warrants which require government officials to identify the place to be searched and the items to be searched for) which allowed British officials to search colonial homes, buildings, and ships for smuggled goods.

Proclamation of 1763: This royal order prohibited colonists from settling west of the appalachian mountains.

Sugar Act (1763) – While this law reduced the tariff on sugar from the Caribbean, it increased enforcement so that merchants could not so easily avoid paying the tax. The law also established courts of admiralty where accused smugglers were denied a jury trial.

Currency Act (1764) – In response to British merchants concerns about the value of currency issued by Colonial legislatures (which they issued because of a shortage of "hard" currency), this law prohibited colonial legislatures from issuing any new paper money.

Stamp Act (1765): This was the first internal tax levied on the colonies. It required the purchase of stamps that were to be put on printed materials such as wills, pamphlets, and newspapers

Quartering Act (1765): This law required the colonists to provide food and a place to live for British soldiers.

Townshend Acts (1767): These laws imposed new taxes on colonial imports of paper, glass, paint, and tea.

Tea Act (1773): This law exempted the British East India Company from paying taxes in England on tea shipped to the colonies. Although this act lowered the price of tea, it hurt colonial traders who still had to pay the tax and as a result could not sell their tea for a lower price than the East India Company.

The Coercive (Intolerable) Acts: These laws were passed to punish Massachusetts for the Boston Tea Party. The acts 1] closed the port of Boston until the colonists paid for the destroyed tea; 2] authorized the quartering of troops in any colonial town; 3] permitted British officals accused of crimes in Massachusetts to stand trial in England; 4] Suspended the Massachusetts legislature.

Quebec Act (1774) – This law enlarged Quebec into the Ohio River Valley and present day Michigan, Wisconsin, Illinois and Indiana. In addition, the law enabled French Canadiens to maintain their legal system and to freely practice their Roman Catholic faith.

PCL XI STROY